We are pleased to welcome a second guest post from David Wardell. This is the first of 3 posts looking at the history of the Grand Stand buildings in Gosforth.
There were several tracks used by the Salters. A track called Salter’s Peth ran through Hollywell Dene from Seaton Sluice also running through Earsden and Long Benton. It crossed the Ouseburn at Raundelsbrygge (Salters Bridge). The track continued through Gosforth Colliery in what we recognise today as South Gosforth, past Haddricks Mill and St Nicholas Church, on its route towards Coxlodge via Salters Lane (Salters Road), before heading out into Northumberland. Salters Road has a long history in Gosforth.
We have pleasure in sharing this piece of research focusing on the records of the Newcastle Guild of Cordwainers (boot and shoemakers).
The hamlet of Three Mile Bridge Gosforth. The latest post in our journey back through time to explore the origins and stories surrounding Gosforth Newcastle.
Gosforth Heritage Postcards offers you a chance to look back at the history of Gosforth through part of our postcard collection. Beautiful pictures of bygone Gosforth and a brief history of postcard use!
Discovering Heritage research on Davison’s Chemist shop. Undertaken in response to a Facebook poll conducted early in 2020.
In June 2019 we published a blog about Richard Welford, author of “A History of the Parish of Gosforth’. We are following this with some research that we have undertaken into the life of Frederick Dendy, author of the 1904 publication “An Account of Jesmond”. Family History Profile
Leazes Park was the venue for the original Kynren, the Historical Pageant of Newcastle and The North in July 1931. This 1930’s extravaganza embraced musicians, choirs, horses and even oxen in historical accounts of the North.
It is the natural characteristic of the High Street shops that they come and go. Communities grow and develop and demand different things. Situations change, and during times of change, we can sometimes find clues to our High Street heritage.